h1

Chindogu

September 8, 2008

 

Things that I want to have
 
 

Last week I was searching Google for some entertainment. Now I don’t know exactly what I typed anymore but it was something like: glow in the dark Volleyball. I was a little surprised when I found out that something like a glow in the dark Volleyball net really exist.

Intrigued as I was, I tried to find more of these “inventions.” Not only did I find loads and loads of sites full of these ideas, they even have a name for it: Chindogu.

Chindogu, Japanese for unuseless object, is an invention that seems like an ideal solution to a particular problem. However, anyone who would actually attempt to use such an invention, would find that it causes so many new problems or such significant social embarrassment, that it isn’t worth using it.

According to the Chindogu rules (yes there are rules) you can’t sell or buy the unusseless tools. But I am sure that a lot of people can’t resist to put their Chindogu inventions for sale on the internet. And of course there would also be a lot of crazy people who would buy this junk. In al honesty, I have to say that I would be tempted to buy this kind of stuff myself.

For anyone who might be interested, here are the Chindogu rules :

The 10 Rules of Chindogu

1. “A Chindogu cannot be for real use”

2. “A Chindogu must exist”

3. “Inherent in every Chindogu is the spirit of anarchy”

4. “Chindogus are tools for everyday life”

5. “Chindogu are not for sale”

6. “Humour must not be the sole reason for creating a Chindogu”

7. “Chindogu is not propaganda”

8. “Chindogu are never taboo”

9. “Chindogus cannot be patented”

10. “Chindogu are without prejudice”

 

 

I’ve come across things like light bulbs that don’t work so you won’t be bothered with light that you don’t want, a hat with toilet paper on top for people with hay fever, a stick specially designed so you can press the ctrl, alt and delete button on your keyboard at the same time and loads of other stuff that is as useless as a third nipple.

Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s fantastic that someone can come up with these brilliant ideas. But how empty must your life be to create this kind of stuff in your free time? And how empty is my life for watching these ideas day after day in my free time?

If you would like someone else´s opinion about this subject, check out this site: http://japundit.com/archives/2005/01/27/43/

 

By: Eva Nieuwenhuis

Leave a Reply

